The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 March 2005, 09:36 am
No ALT tag specified

2005 Hobie Tiger World Championships
Santa Barbara, USA

Defending champions Mitch and Taylor BOOTH (AUS) hold the lead after three races. Olympian and World Champion, Mitch TAYLOR's switch from helm to crewing for his son, Taylor, has seemingly not affected the duo's winning ways. They hold a five point lead over French pair, Eric PROUST and Nicolas USANDIZAGA.
Racing on Tuesday in Santa Barbara, USA was cancelled but the first race of the day on Wednesday started in good solid winds, it then proceeded to quiet down to a more moderate breeze for the second race. The first race was held in the more normal prevailing breeze and local Larry HARTEK made the most of it by heading straight to the shoreline and taking victory followed by Vaireaux MOANA and Petit ROMAIN (FRA) in second. Those who went out to sea suffered badly and in the following race nobody repeated this error.

The second race of the day and race three of the Championship was in a more moderate twelve knot breeze and a tightly packed field. While waiting for the start of the third race the two winds in the area started fighting, with 180 degree different breeze at the top and bottom of the course. The Race Committee then moved the whole course out further from the shore and eventually started a third race. However the breeze became very, very patchy and the race was called off, much to everyone's delight. Even the team leading the race were pleased as they knew that it was unlikely that they would be leading at the finish.

When race three eventually took place it was the Dutch pairing of Mischa HEEMSKERK and Marcelien DE KONING (NED) who took the bullet bringing them up to fourth place overall. Second for Taylor and Mitch BOOTH consolidated their first place overall and leaves them as favourites to retain their title.


Pos Helm Crew Nation R1A R1B R2 R3 Pts
1 Taylor BOOTH Mitch Booth AUS 2 RDG 5 2 9
2 Eric PROUST Nicolas USANDIZAGA FRA 2 8 4 14
3 Fernando ECHAVARRI ERASUN Anton PAZ ESP 1 16 5 22
4 Mischa HEEMSKERK Marcelien DE KONING NED 5 17 1 23
5 Greg THOMAS Jacques BERNIER USA 6 4 16 26
6 Mark LARUFFA Jason FARNELL ITA 5 11 10 26
7 Steve FIELDS Peter DUBBELAAR AUS 4 14 12 30
8 John TOMKO Ian BILLINGS USA 2 18 11 31
9 Andrew KEAG Sam ReId AUS 1 20 15 36
10 Fequet LOIC Hemery GUILLAUME FRA 3 12 25 40
Event Media (As Amended By ISAF). Image, Action From Tuesday:© Sean Douglas
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM