The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 January 2004, 10:47 am
Indian Selection Trials
No ALT tag specified

Asian Sailing Championship

The Asian Sailing Championship Selection Trials were sailed from the 13 to 18 December off INWTC Mumbai. The classes sailed were the Laser, Laser Radial, OK Dinghy, Enterprise, 420 Girls, 420 Boys, 420 Open & 470.
Top two competitors in each class were selected to represent India at the Asian Sailing Championship, which starts today in Mumbai.

The wind conditions varied during the races from medium-light to strong winds. The racing area was located seaward of Oyster Rock and north of the Sunk Rock lighthouse. The races were sailed on a trapezoid course with either inner or outer loops.


10 sailors competed in the Laser. Rajesh CHOUDHARY of the AYN sailed to perfection and cemented his first place in the trials. There was a fight for second place between Selvam and Harihara of AYN but in the end Selvam grabbed the second place ahead of Harihara.


There were 11 competitors in the Laser Radial class. Amit ARVIND of INWTC secured the first place while AYN's Madhu battled it out for second place beating top lady single-hander sailor Meenu DAHIYA by just a point.

OK Dinghy

There were 4 boats in the OK Dinghy trials. Nitin MONGIA of INWTC was clear first all through out the series while Ram KUMAR of AYN secured the second place.


11 boats competed in the Enterprise class trials. Naresh YADAV and GL YADAV of INWTC finished first despite missing the first two races. Aashim MONGIA and Mahesh came second and qualified while Gautam and Sandeep KAPUR finished third and missed the cut.

420 Girls

There were only 2 entries for the 420 girls event. Shilpa OBEROI and Neha MAHESHWARI finished first ahead of Rohini RAO and Pallavi NAIK. The positions kept changing until the 8th race whereon Shilpa and Neha secured a few first places and pulled ahead.

420 Boys

4 pairs vied for honours in the 420 boys category. Former Optimist champions Ninad MAYEKAR and Prashant SHELAR from AYN sailed to win from the word go. Deepak REX and Siddharth from TNSA Madras secured the second place after a tough fight.

420 Open

The 420 Open category saw Farokh TARAPORE and Vikas KAPILLA win in style in a fleet of 9 boats. Sanjeev CHAUHAN and Rajesh DHULAJI of INWTC reversed their Nationals form to beat Ayaz SHAIKH and PVS RAJU of AYN to finish second.


A total of 3 pairs competed to qualify in the 470 (Men) category. Utpal MORE and Sandeep JAIN of AYN sailed to win leaving P Muthu and Srikanth Chaturvedi six points behind in second place.

Measurement starts today at the championship and continues tomorrow, with the first of a ten race series for all classes starting on Thursday 8 January. Further details and results are available on the India Sailing Website at the address below.
India Sailing (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM