The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
7 January 2004, 11:52 am
Race 10 Sailed Just In Time - Then Abandoned
No ALT tag specified

Yngling Open World Championship

Just when the final race of the Yngling World Championship (scheduled for 11am) looked set to be abandoned the wind picked up half an hour before the time limit expired (2:30pm) and race ten was sailed.
However, as the fleet returned to the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron several protests were lodged.

Confusion surfaced because the first beat was almost a one tack leg, so the race committee changed the course for the second beat. However, the Race Committee boat got a rope tangled around the prop and didn't have the new mark laid in time and there was massive confusion by the fleet about which mark to round.

After a few hours the jury agreed to abandon the entire race and the results from the previous day stand. Therefore results are as they were for race nine.

Nicky BETHWAITE (NSWIS), Kristen KOSMALA (NSWIS) and Karyn GOJNICH maintained their second overall in the Yngling World Championship, and the first women's crew. The finished behind Neville WITTEY (AUS), new Yngling Open World Champion.

Bethwaite and crew had a fantastic regatta and their second placing means they secured the most number of points against the other women's crews to win their third Olympic Nomination regatta. The Yngling's are the first class to complete their four Olympic Nomination regattas, to select the Australian team for Athens 2004. Australia qualified for the Olympic Games in the Yngling 2003.

"Although this is a significant step we are all very conscious of the need to plan the next few months carefully to give us a shot at the podium in Athens. Our fitness program, sail and rig development, new boat and regatta plans will need to be discussed and implemented," an excited Bethwaite said.

The crew of Melanie DENNISON, Fiona HERBERT and Caroline ADERS (AUS) maintained their seventh placing (third women's crew) but did not earn enough points to move ahead of Bethwaite's crew on the Olympic Nomination pointscore.

Final results:

1. Neville Wittey 23pts
2. Nicky Bethwaite/Kristen Kosmala/Karyn Gojnich 32pts
3. Adrian Nash & Sean Edmiston 38pts
4. Sharon Ferris 40pts
5. Michael Dunstan 44pts
6. Christoph Skolaut 53pts
7. Melanie Dennison/Fiona Herbert/Caroline Aders - 57pts

Full results are available on the event website at the address below.
Simone Green (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM