The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
11 May 2004, 12:07 pm
Soling Teams Dominate
No ALT tag specified

Brazil Match Race Cup
Rio de Janeiro

Two different Brazilian Soling Teams joined together to compete at the Brazil Match Race Cup looking forward to qualify to compete against famous names such as Torben GREAL, Alan ADLER, Robert SCHEIDT, Gustavo LIMA at the Brazilian Match Race Trophy.
The team, lead by 2004 Paul Elvstrom Trophy (best helsman age under 28) winner Daniel GLOMB (23) together with Cicero HARTMANN, Alexandre MULLER & Eduardo LEBREIRO, sailing the Match race in J24 boats managed to beat the experienced team lead by Maurício SANTA CRUZ(Santinha) with Eduardo PENIDO, Daniel SANTIAGO and Andrew SHORES, tem who won silver medal in the J24 at the Pan American Games in Santo Domingo in 2003.

Glomb's team represented the Yacht Club Veleiros do Sul, the last Soling World Championship Organisers. Daniel Glomb has dedicated the victory to Jose Paulo BARCELLOS, another Soling Sailor who sailing together qualify their team to the Pan American Games in the Soling Class.

The Match Race Brazil Trophy will start next month in Buzios(RJ) and will then be followed by two more events in Ilhabela(SP) and Rio(RJ) all them sailed in Bénéteau 40.7 .

The MR event this year has a different layout inviting two foreign teams leaded by Torkel BORSTROM (ARG) and Gustavo LIMA(POR), 2003 Laser World Champion. At the event each crew will consist of three professional sailors and 7 or 8 amateur sailors fighting for the 40.000 R$ in prizes at each event.

Brazil Match Race Cup Results

1 Daniel Glomb, Cicero Hartmann, Alexandre Muller
2 Maurício Santa Cruz, Eduardo Penido, Daniel Santiago e Andrew Shores
3 Lucas Souza, Fábio Camara, Fernando Sesto e Alexandre Saldanha
4 Ricardo Lobato, Otto Assis, Maxim Wengert, Rodrigo Lins
Soling Class (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM