The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
6 May 2004, 11:50 am
ISAF Sailor Users Exceed 20,000 - Classification Code Users Exceed 10,000
No ALT tag specified

ISAF Sailor

The total number of users registered to ISAF Sailor exceeded 20,000 in April 2004. This success was matched by the registered users to the ISAF Sailor Classification Code which exceeded 10,000 in April 2004.
In April 2004 alone 1,141 sailors registered to ISAF Sailor.

No ALT tag specified

The ISAF Sailor Classification Code has been developed and refined by ISAF over the last five years as a free service, universal and international method of defining professional and amateur sailors.

Introduced in its current form in November 2001, it exists solely as a free service to provide events and classes with an international system for classification of sailors. The Code classifies sailors into three Groups: Group 1, Group 2, and Group 3. Group status is based on financial involvement in boat racing (whether direct or indirect) and/or the use in the sailor's work of knowledge or skill capable of improving the performance of a boat in a race. It is not based on racing success, prowess or talent. No moral or ethical judgements are attached to these classifications. ISAF does not discriminate between 'amateurs' and 'professionals'. It is up to classes and regatta organisers to determine whether and how they use these classifications.

The Classification Code came into mandatory effect from 1 April 2003, and any international event or class that wishes to define the status of its sailors, or limit the numbers of professionals, can use the ISAF classification code to define the limits.

As at April 2004, known events using the ISAF Classification Code in the forthcoming season include:

Rolex IMS Worlds, Italy - 15-25 May 2004
Newport - Bermuda Race - 18 June 2004
Ford Cork Week, Ireland - 10-16 July 2004
Rolex Commodore's Cup, Great Britain - 25 July-1 August
Swan European Regatta, Sardinia - 12-19 September 2004
Phuket King's Cup Regatta, Thailand - 4-11 December 2004

Classes that have adopted the ISAF Classification Code include:

Transpac 52
Farr 395
Farr 40
Mumm 30
Melges 24 (Corinthian division)
IMS 600
Sydney 38
Swan 45
Swan 601 (in 2004)
ID 35
Beneteau 36.7
Beneteau 40.7

The service which delivers the online ISAF Classification Code is ISAF Sailor. ISAF Sailor is a free service offering sailors news and information, online biographies and more.
ISAF Secretariat
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM