The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 February 2004, 02:23 pm
Minoprio First, Dunstan Second.
No ALT tag specified

Warren Jones Memorial Regatta

New Zealand skipper Simon MINOPRIO sailed a masterful series to win the Warren Jones Youth Regatta on the Swan river, completing the event with just two losses in 22 matches.
The crunch came when he faced Sydney skipper Michael DUNSTAN in the penultimate race of the regatta, it was win or lose for both skippers, whoever took the gun in this clash would take the series.

Dunstan and his crew got the better of the start but, in a display of boat handling and tactics that belied his age, Minoprio out sailed Dunstan to grab the advantage before the first mark.

From then on the Kiwis sailed faultlessly in the 18 to 20 knot seabreeze, leaving the Australians no passing lane, to take the gun by 29 seconds, and clinch the regatta with a race to spare.

The young Kiwi described the regatta as "awesome", saying "it was awesome competitors, awesome racing, it was really good competition over here, the Australians like Mike DUNSTAN, and Laurie JURY from back home."

Talking about the crunch match that won him the trophy he said, "we saw a few shifts, our crew work was better, and we managed to out tack him."

The Sydney team were philosophical about their defeat, "Simon completely outsailed us in the race that counted today," confessed the skipper, "all credit to him, and we're happy."

"I've only sailed with one of these guys on a regular basis, so we came over here pretty cold, did minimal training, and did what we did, we're happy with the way we were sailing and it was a good learning experience."

Having won the regatta, things didn't quite go according to plan for Minoprio, in his final match two crew members fell overboard, but they were quickly recovered, though they failed to regain the lead.

As well as the trophy Minoprio picks up automatic entry to the 2004 Berlin Match Racing event, with a travel and expenses package.

Michael DUNSTAN hung onto second place in the series with a cliff hanger win in his last race against local skipper Jackson DIGNEY, in which he took the gun by just one second.

Third overall was another Kiwi, Laurie JURY, while Sweden's Emil WIBERG took fourth place.

The Warren Jones Youth Regatta is organised by the Western Australian Yachting Foundation, and was hosted by Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, in memory of Warren Jones who was the driving force behind Australia II's historic victory in the 1983 America's Cup.

Warren Jones Youth Regatta 2004 - Final Results

Pos Skipper Yacht Club Wins Losses
2 Michael DUNSTAN RSYS 19 3
3 Laurie JURY RNZYS 17 5
4 Emil WIBERG RGYC 13 9
5 Keith SWINTON SoPYC 12 10
6 Adam GARNAUT RFBYC 11 11
7 Richard HOWARD CYCA 10 12
8 Torvar MIRSKY FSC 10 12
9 Jackson DIGNEY RPYC 9.5 12.5
10 Murray GORDON RPAYC 6.5 15.5
11 Phillip MURDOCH TSC 4 18
12 Adam SMITH EFYC 0 22

John Roberson (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM