The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 February 2004, 04:06 pm
Day Two
No ALT tag specified

Warren Jones Memorial Regatta

New Zealand skipper Simon MINOPRIO has taken over the top rung of the ladder at the end of the second day of the Warren Jones Youth Regatta, after surviving six matches undefeated, through a hot and testing day on the Swan River.
Holding onto second place is Sydneysider Michael DUNSTAN, of the Royal Sydney Yacht Squadron, whose only loss for the day was to Minoprio who represents the Royal New Zealand Yacht Squadron.

Laurie JURY, another Kiwi, who shared first place with Dunstan after the first day, has slipped to third place, having lost his first three races of the day, before putting four wins on the board.

"Mike Dunstan was obviously going to be the biggest battle, because it was the first time we'd lined up against him since the Australia championships," said Minoprio about his closest race of the day.

Dunstan is unfazed by being knocked off the top of the ladder at this stage of the regatta, having sailed less races than his Kiwi rival, "it was a shame to lose to Simon," he commented, "but it's not too bad to only have one loss so far."

Talking about that loss he said, "it was a bit of a tactical decision on the first leg, we didn't go the right way, we'd won the start, and went where we wanted to go, but it turned out not to be the right way to go."

Minoprio and Dunstan last faced each other on the water, in the final of the Australian Championships in December, which the New Zealander won.

It was not only the sailing skills of the crews that was tested today, but their endurance in the heat, with the temperature topping out at 39 degrees, fanned by a gusty north easterly, coming straight off the desert.

There was some relief after lunch when a 10 to 12 knot seabreeze established itself, not only bringing the temperature down, but being steadier in strength and direction.

The Warren Jones Youth Regatta is being hosted by Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, and organised by the Western Australian Yachting Foundation, in memory of Warren Jones, who was the inspirational manager behind Australia II's America's Cup victory in 1983.


Pos Name Win Loss
1 Simon Minoprio, RNZYS 12 1
2 Michael Dunstan, RSYS 10 1
3 Laurie Jury, RNZYS 10 3
4= Keith Swinton, SoPYC 8 5
4= Torvar Mirsky, FSC 8 5
6= Emil Wiberg, RGYC 6 6
6= Adam Garnaut, RFBYC 6 6
8 Richard Howard, CYCA 5 8
9= Murray Gordon, RPAYC 3.5 7.5
9= Jackson Digney, RPYC 3.5 8.5
11 Phillip Murdoch, TSC 2 11
12 Adam Smith, EFYC 0 12
John Roberson (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM