The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 February 2004, 08:21 pm
Record Holders Win Sports Award
No ALT tag specified

Sailors with disABILITIES
New South Wales

Around Australia World Record Holders, Sailors with disABLITIES has won the award category of Team with a Disability at the NSW Sports Federation's prestigious Annual Sports Awards for 2003.
The NSW Sports Federation is an independent representative body for sport in New South Wales. The Annual Sports Awards acknowledge the outstanding quality of athletes, sports administrators, coaches, officials and volunteers who represent over 2.1 million sports participants throughout NSW. David PESCUD, President of Sailors with disABILITIES, said, 'we've been able to overcome our disabilities to accomplish some tremendous physical and mental feats in 2003. We've been spurred by our achievements to take on new challenges, and we think this recognition by the NSW Sports Federation highlights the success of our programs within the community which run throughout the year.

Other sailors nominated for the prestigious awards included ISAF Rolex World Sailor of the Year Nominees Darren BUNDOCK and John FORBES in the Athlete of the Year; Bundock holds four World titles in the Tornado class, his crew, Forbes, six. Layne BEACHLEY was named Athlete of the Year and was one of sixteen award recipients at the Sydney Superdome, which included The Penrith Panthers (Rugby League) who were named 2003 NSW Team of the Year.

Alpine skier Michael MILTON and Wheelchair Tennis star David HALL were both awarded Athlete with a Disability of the Year, while Rugby League's Bill HARRIGAN won Official of the Year. Australian of the Year, Steve WAUGH, received a Special Recognition Award for his contribution to cricket. The event was attended by familiar sporting faces including MC Ken SUTCLIFFE Alpine Skier Michael MILTON and recently retired world No.1 rugby league referee, Bill HARRIGAN. Others included INXS member Kirk PENGILLY who accompanied his long term partner Beachley to the event, The Hon. Sandra NORI MP (Minister for Tourism and Sport and Recreation, Minister for Women) and Ian ARMSTRONG OBE MP (Shadow Minister for Tourism and Sport and Recreation).

For further information on Sailors with disABILITIES visit their website via the link below.

Evonne Geluk (As Amended by ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM