The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 February 2004, 02:22 pm
Jury and Dunston Have Unbeatable Day One
No ALT tag specified

Warren Jones Memorial Regatta

Kiwi Laurie JURY and Sydneysider Michael DUNSTAN share the lead at the end of the first day of the Warren Jones Youth Regatta, both skippers are undefeated in six matches after a long hard day on the Swan River.
Also with six wins, but with one defeat is another Kiwi, Simon MINOPRIO, whose only loss was to his compatriot and club mate from the Royal New Zealand Yacht Sqaudron, Laurie JURY.

Micheal DUNSTAN and his crew from the Royal Sydney Yacht Sqaudron are the defending champions, and have yet to face either Jury or Minoprio on the water.

Dunstan has a bit of a score to settle with Minoprio, having been beaten by him in the final of the Australian Match Racing Championship in December, while Jury has Dunstan in his sights having been beaten by him in the semi-final of the same event.

Even at this early stage, this regatta is shaping up to be a classic trans-Tasman tussle.

"It's a good position to be in," commented Michael DUNSTAN at the end of the day, "but we've got all the tough teams tomorrow, we're happy with where we are, but all the work is ahead of us."

There is no doubt that Laurie Jury has moved on since losing that semi-final to Dunstan, "I've done a lot of training, and I've got a couple of new crew including tactician Ryan Houston" he admitted.

The weather gods certainly smiled on the host of the event, the Royal Freshwater Bay Yacht Club, laying on a morning south-easterly land breeze, which swung quickly into a south westerly seabreeze at lunchtime.

The twelve young crews, all under the age of 25, seemed to get to grips with the Foundation 36 yachts in which the series is sailed, which are bigger than the boats used in most youth regattas.

However, despite the size of the boats, there was more than one crew member who ran out of deck space, and ended up in the water, but all were recovered unharmed, except perhaps for a bruised ego.

The Warren Jones Youth Regatta is organised by the Western Australian Yachting Foundation, in memory of Warren Jones, who was the inspirational manager behind Australia II's America's Cup victory in 1983.


Pos Name Win Loss
1 Laurie Jury, RNZYS 6 0
2 Michael Dunstan, RSYS 6 0
3 Simon Minoprio, RNZYS 6 1
4 Keith Swinton, SoPYC 5 3
5 Emil Wiberg, RGYC 4 3
6= Murray Gordon, RPAYC 3 3
6= Adam Garnaut, RFBYC 3 3
6= Torvar Mirsky, FSC 3 3
9 Jackson Digney, RPYC 2 5
10 Richard Howard, CYCA 1 5
11 Phillip Murdoch, TSC 1 7
12 Adam Smith, EFYC 0 7
John Robertson (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM