The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
19 September 2004, 10:27 am
Grael And Fonseca Lead Into Semis
No ALT tag specified

Match Race Brazil

The crews led by Olympic sailors Torben GRAEL and Andre FONSECA took an early lead in the semifinals of Match Race Brasil's leg two, sailed in the sunny Saturday afternoon in Ilhabela, Sao Paulo north shore.
GRAEL's crew defeated Alan ADLER, while FONSECA's beat Daniel GLOMB in the first of the best-of-three regatta. The second and third (if necessary), will be sailed Sunday morning, on a course set near the Ilhabela Yacht Club.

Torben GRAEL, 2003 champion, 2004 Buzios` first leg winner and two-time Olympic champion, confirmed his favorite condition with a remarkable campaign. Hiscrew was the only one unbeaten in the qualifying series, finishing with seven victories. Daniel GLOMB's team was the underdog, completing the series in second place, with five wins, followed by Andre Fonseca and Alan ADLER, with four victories each.

Once again we had good performances and reached our goal so far: to remain undefeated", said Marcelo FERREIRA, GRAEL's tactician and his teammate in the campaign for the two gold medals, in the Star class. "Let's hope that it maintains that way, to win another leg".

The crew's adjustment was one of the strong points, said Marcelo. "The results show that the work is being well done", remarked the sailor, that will turn 39 next week. "Everybody's attention is fundamental".

Due to the lack of wind in front of the Ilhabela Yacht Club, the course was set in the north exit of Sao Sebastiao Channel. The crews led by Robert SCHEIDT (3 wins), Mauricio SANTA CRUZ (2 wins), Joao SIGNORINI (2) and Santiago LAGE (0) didn't qualify.

The Match Race Brasil winning team will receive R$ 25,000, with R$ 10,000 for the runner-up and R$ 5,000 for the third place. The total money prize for the
three legs is R$ 120,000 (US$ 40,000).

General Standings, after day three.

1)Torben Grael, 7 points
2) Daniel Glomb, 5
3) André Fonseca, 4
4)Alan Adler, 4
5)Robert Scheidt, 3
6)Maurício Santa Cruz, 2
7)Joca Signorini, 2
8) Santiago Lange, 0
Event Media (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM