The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
9 September 2004, 09:17 am
Final Report
No ALT tag specified
Finals Action© Event Media

Knickerbocker Cup

Terry MCLAUGHLIN (CAN), with Allan MEGARRY, Geoff MOORE, and Rossi MILEV, has won the ISAF Grade 2 2004 Knickerbocker Cup, his second successive victory.
Right on his heels was Team Vision Yachting (NZL) with Simon MINOPRIO, skipper, and Matthew STUART, Hayden GOODRICK and Stuart MOLLOY, who captured second place. This young team, who have been match racing for only a few years, forced McLaughlin to a third match in the best of three in the finals on Sunday, September 5 on Manhasset Bay in western Long Island Sound.

McLaughlin took the first match, but after receiving two penalties during the second, watched Team Vision Yachting beat them to the finish. In the third match, Team Vision Yachting were leading down the first leg, but encountered some spinnaker problems rounding the mark, allowing McLaughlin to sail past and onto victory.

In the Petit Finals, Dickson Racing Team (USA), with Scott DICKSON, skipper, with Peter COLLINS, Sonny GIBSON, and Sean MCGINN, handily beat Freshminds (GBR) 2-0 with Christian HAMILTON at the helm. On board with Hamilton were Leo DIXON, Nick WALMSLEY and Charlie OSMOND.

The rest of the teams were closely matched. After two days of racing, three teams - Andrew ARBUZOV (Russia), Paul CAMPBELL-JAMES (GBR), and Mason WOODWORTH, Team Seawanhaka (USA) were tied with four wins, four losses each. With racing cancelled on Saturday due to no wind, the rest of the full round robin was sailed in shifty NE winds on Sunday, September 5, determining the top four teams to advance, and the final standings for the rest of the teams. Mason WOODWORTH won two out of three matches on Sunday morning, giving Team Seawanhaka a fifth place.

Arbuzov and Campbell-James each won one match out of three, giving Campbell-James a seventh place, followed by Arbuzov in eighth. Laurie JURY, Kiwi Match Team (NZL), who had three wins and five losses after two days of racing, came on strong on Sunday, winning all three of his matches, and beat out both Arbuzov and Campbell-James to

America's Cup Hall of Famer, Ed DU MOULIN, Past Commodore of the Knickerbocker YC and founder of the Knickerbocker Cup, awarded first prize to the McLaughlin team and congratulated them on their win. du Moulin remembered McLaughlin from the America's Cup days back in 1983 when McLaughlin was the Canadian contender to challenge for the Cup and was eliminated by Australia II, which went on to win the Cup and take it away from the United States for the first time in history. He continued, "We are pleased to add your name again to the permanent trophy which resides at our club. You'll be in good company as you join the past twenty-one winners which include Ed BAIRD, Paul CAYARD, Russell COUTTS, and Peter GILMORE." In accepting the award, McLaughlin introduced his crew, thanked Knickerbocker YC for an terrific event and continued, "The Race Committee was excellent, and the competitors impressive. It's very hard to defend, as everyone is out to get you. This year there was a preponderance of young people, much closer to my son's age. They are very up and coming. I wouldn't want to sail against these guys in the next two, three or four years; I think we'd have a very hard time."

The Knickerbocker Cup has grown to become a leading Match Race Event, having gained status as part of the Match Racing Association, of which Past Commodore Ted WEISBERG is the immediate past President. The dream of having an East Coast Match Racing Event, which started more than twenty years ago, has become much more than the founders, Ed DU MOULIN and Arthur KNAPP, could have expected. Today the Knickerbocker Cup is known throughout the world as a well-run match racing event, with skippers and crew eager to be invited to compete on Manhasset Bay. This year, of the twelve teams to compete, seven came from foreign countries. Past winners have included top names in match racing: Dave DELLENBAUGH, USA (1985), Paul CAYARD, USA (1991), Ed BAIRD (1993, 1994, 2000), Roy HEINER, Netherlands (1995), Russell COUTTS, New Zealand (1996), Peter GILMOUR, USA (1998, and 2001), and Tomislav BASIC, Croatia (1999).

For more information and to view Cup photos visit the website via the link below.

2004 Final Standings

2. Simon MINOPRIO, Team Vision Yachting (NZL)
3. Scott DICKSON, Dickson Racing Team (USA)
4. Christian HAMILTON, Freshminds (GBR)
5. Mason WOODWORTH, Team Seawanhaka (USA)
6. Laurie JURY, Kiwi Match Team (NZL)
8. Andrew ARBUZOV (Russia)
9. Martin ANGSELL, Harken Matchracing Team (SWE)
10. Graeme SUTHERLAND, Pulse Yacht Racing Team (NZL)
11. Peter WIBROE, Team PW (DK)
12. Nick CHERRY (GBR)
Andrea Watson (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM