The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
3 September 2004, 12:02 pm
Racing Underway
No ALT tag specified
© Event Media

Knickerbocker Cup
Manhasset Bay

The 2003 Knickerbocker Cup is underway. Twelve teams from around the world arrived at the Knickerbocker YC in Port Washington, NY to compete in the 22nd running of this four-day match race.
Ed du MOULIN and the late Arthur KNAPP initiated this event in 1982, and since then, the Knickerbocker Cup has gained status over the years as part of the Match Racing Association of which Knickerbocker YC Past Commodore Ted WEISBERG is the immediate past President.

Wednesday, 1 September was a practice day, with racing commencing yesterday, Thursday, 2 September. Manhasset Bay offered very shifty winds to the sailors for their first day of sailing, and possibly giving sailors who participated in prior Knickerbocker Cups some advantage. Terry MCLAUGHLIN (CAN), the defending champion, with his crew of Allan MEGARRY, Geoff MOORE and Rossi MILEV had five bullets, and led the pack by the end of the day. Other returning teams, including Mason WOODWORTH (USA), Andrew ARBUZOV (Russia) and Martin ANGSELL (SWE) put in solid performances. Teams to watch include Scott DICKSON (USA), Christian HAMILTON (GBR) and Laurie JURY (NZL) who show possibility of giving the leader some trouble. With one day of racing under their belt, and the rest of the teams getting a taste of local winds, the outcome is up for grabs.


Terry McLaughlin (CAN), 5 wins, 0 losses
Scott Dickson (USA), 3 wins, 2 losses
Christian Hamilton (GBR), 3 wins, 2 losses
Andrew Arbuzov (Russia), 2 wins, 1 loss
Laurie Jury (NZL), 2 wins, 1 loss
Mason Woodworth (USA), 2 wins, 1 loss
Martin Angsell (SWE), 2 wins, 3 losses
Simon Minoprio (NZL), 2 wins, 3 losses
Paul Campbell-Jones (GBR), 1 win, 2 losses
Graeme Sutherland (NZL), 1 win, 2 losses
Peter Wibroe (DK), 1 win, 2 losses
Nick Cherry (GBR), 0 wins, 5 losses
Andrea Watson (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM