The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
4 September 2004, 07:15 pm
Day Two
No ALT tag specified

Knickerbocker Cup

The wind on Manhasset Bay tried to take centre stage on the second day of the 2004 Knickerbocker Cup, but the herculean efforts of the Race Committee, lead by PRO Sue Reilly, forced Mother Nature to take a back seat.
Competition was very tight between the teams who finished one race mid-morning before the wind died, but a full eight races were completed by end of day. According Sue Reilly, the day turned out better than expected considering the conditions, and she was pleased they could have a full day of racing. "We were constantly changing courses because the wind would go to exactly where we just picked up the mark. When we shortened the course, then the wind picked up, if we lengthened it, the wind died."

Once the wind filled in about 2:30 pm, the teams geared up and showcased their match racing skills. Many of the matches were determined on the last leg of the course, and in one race, Paul CAMPBELL-JONES (GBR) and Scott DICKSON, Dickson Racing Team (USA) exchanged their lead four times, with Campbell-Jones taking line honors. Simon MINOPRIO (NZL), Team Vision Yachting, who has only two to three years of match racing under his belt, won all of his six races.

After two wins and three losses yesterday, it appears that Minoprio has a handle on the shifty local winds. His performance today just about assures them a place in the semi-finals, and Minoprio, with crew Matthew Stuart, Hayden Goodrick and Sam Tucker, may well be the team that gives Terry McLaughlin (CAN) a run for his money. Saturday's racing should be interesting as McLaughlin will be back on the race course, after having a lay day.

Standings as of Friday, September 3, 2004:

Terry McLaughlin (CAN), 5 wins, 0 losses
Simon Minoprio (NZL), 8 wins, 3 losses
Scott Dickson (USA), 7 wins, 4 losses
Christian Hamilton (GBR), 3 wins, 2 losses
Andrew Arbuzov (Russia), 4 wins, 4 losses
Paul Campbell-Jones (GBR), 4 wins, 4 losses
Mason Woodworth (USA), 4 wins, 4 losses
Martin Angsell (SWE), 4 wins, 7 losses
Laurie Jury (NZL), 3 wins, 5 losses
Graeme Sutherland (NZL), 3 wins, 5 losses
Peter Wibroe (DK), 3 wins, 5 losses
Nick Cherry (GBR), 0 wins, 5 losses
Event Media (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM