The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 April 2004, 09:39 am
Countdown to the Start
No ALT tag specified

China Sea Race

On Thursday 08 April at 1200hrs (local time), a fleet of 26 yachts will gather at Ching Chau (Steep Island) to start the 22nd China Sea Race, racing each other over the 565nm from Hong Kong to Subic Bay in the Philippines.
Organised by the Royal Hong Kong Yacht Club in conjunction with Manila Yacht Club, the race forms the climax of the Omega Asian Yachting Circuit's four event series and, as such, will be filmed and shown worldwide. Hosted exclusively for Cruisers, this year's China Sea Race Series incorporates the President's Cup, which is the final major regatta of the Asian sailing season.

The leading entrants are expected to reach the finish line some time on 10 April, with the current record of 47:43:07 being set in 2000 by Beau Geste, skippered by Karl KWOK. RHKYC are delighted that the 15-strong IRC Racing Division features several overseas entrants, plus Omega Asian Yachting Circuit title contenders Hi Fidelity (Neil PRYDE), Stella Minter Ellison (Fred KINMONTH) and Clariden Karakoa (Ray ORDOVEZA). Local favourites Jelik (Frank PONG) and Ffree Fire (Sam CHAN) will also be hoping to put in strong performances.
Lindsay Lyons (As Amended by ISAF)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM