The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
26 March 2005, 07:41 pm
Spanish Sailor Takes Overall Winner Accolade
No ALT tag specified

Princess Sofia Trophy 2005
Palma de Mallorca, Spain

The last day of the Princess Sofia Trophy enjoyed an east wind, 8 to 12 knots, with all classes completing their schedule of races except for the 470 and Finn (Bravo area) where no races were sailed yesterday.
The ISAF Grade 2 Princess Sofia Trophy is the European season's first major Olympic classes regatta.

With an excellent performance throughout the regatta, Spanish sailor Ivan PASTOR (MISTRAL) became the overall winner of the Princess Sofia Trophy.

Many of the overnight leaders further consolidated their positions, including Paige RAILEY (USA), the 17-year-old Laser Radial sailor from St. Petersburg, Florida. Railey is the top Laser Radial sailor on the 2005 US Sailing Team and currently ranked 7 on the ISAF World Sailing Rankings. Railey defeated 35 boats from ten countries in Palma de Mallorca to take home the honours, with a strong performance which was consistent throughout the five-day regatta, taking the lead on the first day and never relinquishing that top spot. Out of a total of 13 races, Railey won a total of six races, to finish ahead of second placed Charlotte DOBSON (GBR), who inched ahead of third place finisher Wiebke SCHRODER (GER) earlier in the week.

In the 470 fleet, a new duo emerged from Great Britain who took the fleet by storm and victory. Nic ASHER and Elliot WILLIS finished with a 20 point margin on the second placed Pallu DE LA BARRIERE/ Chappellier AYMERIC (FRA) and included three firsts from the series.

A rather closer battle in the 470 women fleet, which was eventually won by Sylvia VOGL/Carolina FLATSCHER (AUT). A good start to the season for this duo who currently hold their highest ever placing in the ISAF World Sailing Rankings at 18. Chasing hard was Olympic silver medallist Natalia VIA DUFRESNE, with new crew Laia Tutzó, who placed second. Natalia's former Olympic crew Sandra AZON has jumped back into the Yngling with sister Monica helming and Graciela PISONERO, and they finished second in the 12 boat Yngling fleet.

The 49er saw the only the second ever victory in an ISAF Graded Event for Marcin CZAJKOWSKI and Krzysztof KIERKOWSKI (POL), in a narrow 3 point margin over Alberto PADRÓN/Javier DE LA PLAZA (ESP). Danish brothers Peter HANSEN/Soren HANSEN pulled in to take the third place, and would have challenged the winners were it not for their DSQ in the penultimate race.

An easy sweep in the Finn fleet for Emilios PAPATHANASIOU (GRE) who took victory in a very methodical approach with a string of top five results counting to his win. Gasper VINCEC (SLO) made a massive improvement on his 2004 result (19) to finish second. Jonas HOEGH-CHRISTENSEN (DEN) rounded off the trio a few points adrift of Vincec.

In the Laser fleet, it was 2003 ISAF World Champion Gustavo LIMA (POR) who was on form to take victory, over Paul GOODISON (GBR) and Mark HOWARD (GBR) in second and third respectively.

Victory in the Tornado fleet went to Darren BUNDOCK with new crew Aaron WORRALL (AUS), with a superb performance to tally 50% of their results with a bullet. Chasing hard, but not hard enough, were 2000 Olympic bronze medallists Roland GAEBLER/Gunnar Struckmann (GER). Third place was taken by another new pairing Leigh MCMILLAN and Will HOWDEN (GBR).

The 12 boat Yngling fleet was won by Janneke HIN/ Petronella DE JONG / Klaatje ZUIDERBAAN (NED). Klaatje Zuiderbaan is the new addition to this team, and is best known from the match racing circuit. With the Spanish crew helmed by Sandra AZON in second, third place went to Ekaterina SKUDINA/Diana KRUTSKIKH/Tatiana LARSTEVA (RUS).

For the complete results across all fleets, visit the Event Website.

ISAF. Image: Gustavo LIMA (POR), © Nico Martinez
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM