The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
12 July 2004, 09:34 am
Three Boats Chase One Title
No ALT tag specified

8 Metre World Championship

Two races were held on the final day of the 8 Metre World Championships on Saturday, yielding sunny weather and some good wind.
Going into the final day three boats led the competition, the French Fleur de Lys and the Swiss Aluette both have 1st place finishes, whilst the Dutch Lafayette whilst carrying a scoreline of second or third places, led in the overall ranking, by only one point from the two others: what suspense!

This meant that whichever of these three boats crossed the finish line 1st in the last race would be the World Champion!

Glory went to Lafayette, skippered by Philip CREBBIN and his dutch crew, won the world champion title! Unfortunately both Starts were canceled today because of lack of wind. Aluette and Fleur de Lys were both just one point behind the leader Lafayette! "The conditions of this year were much better than in 1998," noted Philip CREBBIN once he was back in the harbour. "I'm very glad to win these World Championships, even though we never placed first in any of the races. But consistency throughout the week yielded our win. We have noticed a much higher level of the boats attending the championships."

In the other categories the rankings are still the same: The Sira Cup goes to Cutty Tou (FRA), then Froya (SUI) and Sphinx (FIN). The Vintage class goes to - and it isn't a surprise - Bona (ITA) then Catina VI (SUI) and Carron II (SUI). The Gaff Rigged class goes to Edit (GER) then Silhouette (GER).

Final Top 10 Results Overall
1. Lafayette NED J. Fruytier 15 pts
2. Fleur de Lys FRA Gaston Schmalz 16 pts
3. Aluette SUI Peter Groh 16 pts
4. Gitana Sixty SUI Camilia Langoux 24 pts
5. Yquem SUI Jean Fabre 28 pts
6. Gefion SUI Benoît de Gorski 32 pts
7. Spazzo GER Wilfried Beeck 35 pts
8. Sarissa SUI Jacques Mazet 39 pts
9. Mystery CAN Ronald Palm 46 pts
10. Bona ITA Giovanni Mogna 65 pts
Event Media (Amended by ISAF Secretariat)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM