The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
2 July 2004, 09:07 am
Toughest Ever Test
No ALT tag specified

Archipelago Raid

On 9 August, no less than twenty-five teams and 11 nationalities will start from Stockholm for the fourth edition of one of the toughest yacht races in the World.
Four days and four nights of intense navigation on Formula 18 catamarans, among the largest archipelago of Europe (100 000 islands), awaits sailors, who will sail nearly 500 nautical miles.

This year's edition of the Archipelago Raid will be the toughest ever. More experienced teams, longer course and darker nights, as the event will take place in August instead of July, will increase the level of the competition and its difficulties.

Every year the concept of the Archipelago Raid is attracting more sailors. "The first year, when we started with a pilot edition to test the new concept of the event, only five Formula 18 boats existed in Sweden. Now they are more than 40… In 3 years, the success of the Formula 18 class in Sweden is very relevant to the success of the Archipelago Raid" said organiser Christine Salén, at Atlant Ocean Racing.

More than one month before the start, 25 teams, representing 11 nationalities, are already registered. Competitors from England, Finland, Poland, France, Switzerland, USA, Chile, New Caledonia, and New Zealand will try to dethrone the Swedish team, Anders Lewander/Calle Hennix (Tidermans), winners of last year's edition.

Among the competitors, we will find the American David SCULLY, one of the fastest sailors in the world. This watch-captain on the maxi-catamaran Playstation, will for the first time compete with the English female sailor Claire BAILEY in the Archipelago Raid.

Swiss Steve RAVUSSIN, will be back in the Baltic archipelagos. He won the first edition of the Archipelago Raid with Frenchman Franck Cammas, but will this year compete with the New-Caledonian Olympic medallist, Franck DAVID.

The French team Eric PROUST and Yann ANDRILLON is one of the most experienced teams in the Formula 18 class and specialist of Raids. Like Yvan BOURGNON and Gerard NAVARIN and Thibaut VAUCHEL and Jeremie LAGARRIGUE, they will discover the difficulties of the navigation through 100 000 islands, and all three teams will surely be among the favourites of the 2004 edition.
The winners of the three previous editions: Steve RAVUSSIN (2001), Magnus WOXEN (2002) and Anders LEWANDER and Calle HENNIX (2003) will be back and try to renew their performance.

The ambition of Atlant Ocean Racing is to create a top level sailing competition in extreme conditions, while discovering the exceptional maritime arena of the Baltic archipelagos.

2004 Teams: (30 Teams/11 Nationalities)

Team Tidermans - Anders Lewander (SWE) and Calle Hennix (SWE)
Team Sogeti - Magnus Woxén (SWE) and Rodney Ardern (NZL)
Team Jobman Workwear - Björn Hansen (Åland) and Tore Lewander (SWE)
Team Macfreeze - Anders Tengbom (SWE) and Fred Wikström (SWE)
Proust sailing - Eric Proust (FRA) and Yann Andrillon (FRA)
FIN 1383 - Janne Riihelä (FIN) and Kalle Bask (FIN)
Banque Covefi - Pierre Yves Moreau (FRA) and Peter Desmedt (FRA)
Candino-Swiss Watch - Steve Ravussin (SUI) and Franck David (CAL
Team Addicom- Fredrik Adilstam (SWE) and Pontus Johansson (SWE)
Team AB Gustavsberg - Eskil Degsell (SWE) and Peter Mickos (SWE)
Team X-Scape and X-Leisure -William Sunnucks (GBR) and Mark Self (GBR)
Swe 1052 - Bengt Jacobson (SWE) and Jan Schiratzki (SWE)
Team Saserq Marinepool - Thibaut Vauchel (FRA) and Jeremie Lagarrigue (FRA)
Team Slam - Stefan Engstrand (SWE) and Max Larsvall (SWE)
Twinwire - David Scully (USA) and Claire Bailey (GBR)
Team Bourgnon/Navarin - Yvan Bourgnon (SUI) and Gerard Navarin (FRA)
New Rules - Cristobal Urenda (CHI) / George Nieto (CHI)
Team Monfrino/Qvarnström - Ulf Qvarnström (SWE) and Fredrik Monfrino (SWE)
IBX - Lars Linder (SWE) and Gustav Hasselskog (SWE)
Novo Nordisk Sailing Team - Arne Sjöberg (SWE) and Per Isacson (SWE)
Team PAF - Patrick Blom (FIN) and Kasimir Johansson (FIN)
Team Petter/Peter - Petter Lindblad (SWE) and Peter Lund (SWE)
Team Addicom - Joakim Ögren, (SWE) and Henrik Gattberg (SWE)
TBC - Tomas Marimon (SWE) and Magnus Nordström (SWE)
Team Westergren/Lövden - Per Westergren, (SWE) and Magnus Lövdén (SWE)
Team Stockholm Vatten - Patrik Forsgren (SWE) and Niklas Nordblom (SWE)
Team TBC - Filip Engelbert (SWE) and Joachim Ekdahl (SWE)
TBC - Neal McDonald (GBR) and Lisa McDonald (USA) - Pia L'Obry (SWE) and Jens Österlund (SWE)
TBC - Fredrik Hansen (SWE) and Christopher "Bamse" Ringhagen (USA/SWE)
TBC - Frederique Pfeiffer (FRA) and Diana Bogaards (NED)
Event Media (As Amended By ISAF News Editor)
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM