The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 July 2004, 11:27 am
Spithill Makes It A Double Victory
No ALT tag specified
© Event Media

Trofeo Roberto Trombini

It was a fantastic finish to the ISAF Grade 1, Trofeo Roberto Trombini in Ravenna, Italy yesterday. Ideal conditions with a thermal wind of between 10-12 knots made for fascinating final races.
The winner of the tenth running of this classic match-racing event and the first Australian to win was James SPITHILL, sailing for Luna Rossa. He defeated Roy HEINER (NED) in an epic four race final by three races to one.

Heiner won the first race of the final with an all Italian crew composing of Claudius CELON, Manuel MODENA and Raimondo TONELLI, but Spithill fought back in the second match, levelling the score at 1-1. Overcoming a circling penalty in the pre-start in the third race of the series, Spithill successfully pass Heiner and open up enough of a gap to take the penalty and the third race. He went on to win a closely fought race four by a mere boat-length, and with it yet another ISAF Grade 1 victory. Spithill is the third skipper to win the Tofeo Roberto Trombini twice, and joins Magnus HOLMBERG and (1997/1998) and Peter HOLMBERG (2000/2001)

In the petit-final, Ian WILLIAMS (GBR) defeated Lars NORDBJERG (DEN) in a three race match that was fraught with aggression and the appearance of a number of protest flags, as well as a bit of bumper boat action. He eventually took the battle 2-1 to finish third in the event.

All in all, fantastic racing and a competitive atmosphere made the tenth Trofeo Roberto Trombini one to remember, especially for the still young James SPITHILL, whose victory cements his standing towards the top of the ISAF World Match Race Rankings for the future.

Full results and flight details are available on the event website at the address below.

Overall Results

1. James Spithill (AUS)
2. Roy Heiner (NED)
3. Ian Williams (GBR)
4. Lars Nordbjerg (DEN)
5. Michael Dunstan (AUS)
6. Flavio Favini (ITA)
7. Bjorn Hansen (SWE)
8. Matteo Simoncelli (ITA)
9. Paul Campbell James (GBR)
10. Sebastien Col (FRA)
11. Eguenyi Neugodnikov (RUS)
12. Peter Wibroe (DEN)
ISAF News Editor
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM