Event Partners

Argo Group Gold Cup 2009
Regatta Details
Start Date5 October 2009
End Date11 October 2009
Entry NameBrian Billings
Entry AddressRoyal Bermuda Yacht Club
Registration Lists n/a
The Argo Group Gold Cup is the eighth of nine stops on the 2009 World Match Racing Tour, whose winner will be crowned the ISAF Match Racing World Championship. Racing is held in the International One-Design boat.

The winner in Bermuda is awarded the King Edward VII Gold Cup, the oldest match-racing trophy in the world for competition involving one-design yachts. It was given at the Tri-Centenary Regatta at Jamestown, Virginia, in 1907 by King Edward VII in commemoration of the 300th Anniversary of the first permanent settlement in America. C. Sherman Hoyt won the regatta and was the first to accept the now historic cup.

After three decades of holding the Cup, Mr. Hoyt gave it to the Royal Bermuda Yacht Club and proposed a regular one-on-one match-race series in 6-Meter yachts. In his letter he expressed the propriety of "my returning a British Royal trophy to the custody of your club, with its long record of clean sportsmanship and keenly contested races between your Bermuda yachts and ours of Long Island Sound, and elsewhere..." The first winner of the Cup in its new format was the celebrated Briggs Cunningham, who was also the first skipper to win the America's Cup in a 12-Meter.

The title sponsor of the event is Argo Group. The Bermuda Department of Tourism is an Official Host Sponsor and event sponsors include Renaissance Re, Max Re, Guy Carpenter, Bermuda Premium Spirits and Oleander Cycles.

Match racing Open International One Design (IOD) WOverall Results
Argo Group Gold Cup - World Match Racing Tour05 Oct 2009 - 11 Oct 2009
International One Design (IOD) (Open) Match racing
Position Nation Sail Number Net Points Total Points Crew
1GBRn/aBen Ainslie
2NZLn/aAdam Minoprio
3GBRn/aIan Williams
4SUIn/aEric Monnin
5SWEn/aJohnie Berntsson
6FRAn/aMathieu Richard
7BERn/aBlythe WALKER
8AUSn/aTorvar Mirsky
9SWEn/aBjorn Hansen
9FRAn/aDamien Iehl
11NZLn/aPhilip Robertson
12USAn/aDave Perry
13FRAn/aSébastien Col
14DENn/aRasmus Viltoft
14SWEn/aMattias Rahm
14NZLn/aReuben Corbett
14AUSn/aKeith Swinton
14AUSn/aPeter Gilmour
19PORn/aAlvaro Marinho
20GBRn/aRobbie Allam
20USAn/aian evans
20USAn/aCharles Enright
20USAn/aDonald Wilson
24BERn/aPaula Lewin
© 2018 All Rights Reserved by Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM