The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
14 February 2013, 11:15 am
Early Leaders Stay In Control At Semana Internacional del Yachting
Julio Alsogaray a man in control
Julio Alsogaray a man in control

Semana Internacional del Yachting
Mar del Plata, Argentina

At the midway stage of the Semana Internacional del Yachting in Mar del Plata, Argentina the early leaders have cemented their spot at the top of the leader board after three days of variable conditions.
To date, the competitors enjoyed a classic thermal north east wind, a southerly breezy second day greeted competitors whilst the third day a gusty westerly wind made life complicated for the competitors competing across ten fleets.

Some classes contesting the regatta co-organized by the Club Nautico Mar del Plata and the Yacht Club Argentino have completed more than six races with the discard coming into effect and making changes across the board whilst the leaders remain at the top.

Lucia Falasca (ARG) had held an early lead in the Laser Radial with some consistent racing but a poor third day from her saw her rivals capitalise on her shortcomings as she was displaced from the top and fell to fourth overall. Despite a shaky start Agustin Vidal moved up to the top of the tree.

Whilst Clara Videla and Nicole Hovassapian (ARG) continue to hold the Cadet lead a good day from Nahuel Ponce and Inaki Arroyo (ARG) drew level on 11 points.

In the Laser, Yago Lange had a great day to take second place. However London 2012 Olympian Julio Alsogaray (ARG) has won six out of eight races to hold a comfortable lead. Guido Pozzi Alcon continues to stretch his lead over Nicholas Barber in the Laser 4.7 and there were no changes in the top place among the F18, 420 and 29er.

Sailors enjoy a day of rest on Thursday before heading into the end zone on Friday and Saturday.

Optimist Beginners (135 participants and 5 races sailed):
1. Augustine Perez Aguirre (YCO) 16pts
2. John Paul Grosso (CVR) 24pts
3. Guido Orazi (CRLP) 26pts

Helmsmen Optimist (180 competitors and 8 races):
1. Chase.Cooper (BER) 19pts
2. Fausto Cruz Peralta (CNSP) 25pts
3. Francesca Foronda (PER) 26 pts

Cadet (7 competitors, 7 races):
1. C.Videla / N.Hovassapian (YCA) 11pts
2. N.Ponce / I.Arroyo (CNGSM) 11pts
3. M.Rosch / M.Somodi (CNGSM) 14pts.

Laser Standard: (19 competitors, 8 races)
1.J.Alsogaray (YCA) 8pts
2. Yago Lange (CNSI) 23pts
3. Juan Pablo Bissio (YCR) 24pts.

Laser Radial: (47 competitors, 8 races):
1. A. Vidal (400YCC) 17pts
2. P.Hecker (CNSP) 27pts
3. L. Falasca (YCA) 29pts

Laser 4.7: (22 competitors, 8 races):
1. G.Pozzi Alc (CNSP) 10pts
2. N. Barbero (CNMP) 33pts
3. E. Fernandez (CVR) 37pts

Snipe (12 competitors, 4 races)
1. J.Grimaldi / N.Jenkins (CNMP) 5pts
2. J.Cunto / A.Dallavia (CRHC) 10pts
3. A.Wysieki / A.Sallenave (CRHC) 12 pts.

420: (12 competitors, 8 races)
1. A.Romero / F.Jacobs (YCA) 12pts
2. M.Cloos / B.Higgins (CVB) 17pts
3. N.Digiovanni / F.Gentile (YCA) 18pts

29er: (16 competitors, 10 races)
1. I.Varisco / K.Lange (CNSI) 9pts
2. S.Bosco / E.Bosco (YCO) 24pts
3. D.Terrab / F.Garcia (CVB) 37pts.

F18: (10 competitors, 10 races)
1. C.Carranza / E.Blando (YCR) 17pts
2. C.Gonzalez Smith / M.Heuser (YCA) 24pts
3. S.Mehl / J.Saubidet (Aguila) 31pts.

John Paul Cadario
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM