The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
1 September 2012, 06:05 pm
Australian Sonars Take Early Advantage
Aussies leading on British waters
Aussies leading on British waters

London 2012 Paralympic Sailing Competition
Weymouth and Portland, Great Britain

Australia's Colin Harrison, Jonathan Harris and Stephen Churm sailed consistently on day one of the Paralympic Sailing Competition to lead the 14-boat Sonar fleet.
The Sonars were the last fleet to hit the water and in a gentle eight-knot breeze the Australians won the opening race of the series and backed it up with a third in Race 2. They lead Germany's Jens Kroker, Siegmund Mainka and Robert Prem and France's Bruno Jourdren, Nicolas Vimont-Vicary and Eric Flageul, who are tied on seven points..

In the opening race Paul Callahan, Tom Brown and Bradley Johnson (USA) emerged from the pack in the lead at the first mark, chased by the Australians in second. However, by the end of the second leg everything had changed at the front, with the Australians rounding first just ahead of the French crew who had powered into second on the downwind leg while the Americans dropped to third.

A lap later the French crew were in the lead, with Australia in second and USA third. Harrison struck back on the next leg, overhauling Jourdren to lead at mark three. No further places changed in the final leg which gave the Australians the race win.

In the second race of the day, the German crew capitalised on a good start to lead the fleet around the first mark with Harrison steering his boat behind them in second. Whilst the Germans extended their lead, the Australians slipped back a place which allowed Udo Hessels, Marcel Van De Veen and Mischa Rossen (NED) to move into second,

On the third leg, Kroker had built a large lead and rounded the third mark well ahead of the Dutch trio in second and the Australians in third. The places remained the same capping off a good start for the Australians and Germans.

Top Five
1. Colin Harrison, Jonathan Harris & Stephen Churm (AUS) - 4pts
2. Jens Kroker, Siegmund Mainka & Robert Prem (GER) - 7pts
3. Bruno Jourdren, Nicolas Vimont-Vicary & Eric Flageul (FRA) - 7pts
4. Paul Callahan, Tom Brown & Bradley Johnson (USA) - 9pts
5. Udo Hessels, Marcel van de Veen, Mischa Rossen (NED) - 10pts

Follow all the latest news from the Paralympic Sailing via the International Association for Disabled Sailing Twitter, @IFDS_Updates.


Disabled Sailing London 2012 Paralympic Website
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM