The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
31 January 2012, 11:59 am
269 Sailors To Compete At 15th Asian Sailing Championships
National Sailing Centre Langkawi Malaysia
National Sailing Centre Langkawi Malaysia

15th Asian Sailing Championships
Langkawi, Malaysia

Racing at the 15th Asian Sailing Championships 2012 gets underway on 16 February through until 25 February 2012. Teams from 24 nations in Asia will gather in Langkawi, Malaysia ready to do battle for the 14 classes in Asian Championship titles.
Organized by the Malaysia Yachting Association and Asian Sailing Federation, the Asian Sailing Championships will match hot favorites alongside relative newcomers to the class. To be eligible to compete, all sailors must be members of their National Federation.

The 9th KFC Langkawi International Regatta Perdana 2012, which is scheduled during 08 February to 12 February 2012, will be an initial indicator of form and includes representatives from more than 13 nations. More than 240 sailors have confirmed their entry for this event.

With most of the racers competing at the LIRP 2012, and with a few more days of training and race course familiarity under their belts, there is any number of teams who will be leading the fleet and challenging for Asian Sailing Championship glory.

"Nine years ago, in 2003, Langkawi played host to its first International Regatta. Looking down the results leader board from the 2003, many of those names are now well known international sailors. I wish all of you competing at the Asian Sailing Championships 2012 a fantastic and memorable event and successful future sailing careers," commented Mohd Afendy, General Manager of the Malaysian Yachting Association. "We are all looking forward to racing in this fantastic location."

The MYA in association with 470 International is also organising a pre-Championship Racing Clinic led by world class coach Nick Drougas GRE), from 10 - 15 February 2012.

The Championship is being co-ordinated by Mohd Afendy, with the International Jury led by Bryan Willis (GBR), Ilker Bayinder (TUR) as Principal Race Officer and Barry Johnson (AUS) as Chief Measurer.
Pretty Viswamitra
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM