The Official
Website of the
Sailing Federation
5 January 2012, 11:02 am
Singapore Crowned Optimist Team Racing Champions
Singapore Sailors Jump for Joy
Singapore Sailors Jump for Joy

Optimist World Championship
Napier, New Zealand

Singapore's Optimist sailors defeated Peru's team 2-1 to become Optimist Team Racing Champions in Napier, New Zealand.
The second day of teams racing started with a glorious sunny day, 16 teams and 32 races ahead.

The 2010 World Champions, Thailand, sailed their first race against Poland. Thailand sailed a strong competition and made it through to the semi-finals but lost against Peru.

Peru who had beaten the Netherlands 10 to 26 in the quarter finals, had a lot of onshore supporters.

"This weather really brings out the crowds, and it is fantastic to see the support for all these young sailors," says Nigel Rippey, Event Director.

The wind decided to play games with the sailors, and changed direction half way through the morning which meant a new course had to be set.

Singapore had won all their races and therefore qualified after 4 races, while Peru had to sail 6 races to the final.

The final sail off consist of three races. Both Singapore and Peru qualified by beating reigning Champions Thailand. Singapore won the first race with 13 over 23. The second race saw a draw 18 all, but with Singapore finishing first, the win went to Peru. The third all deciding race went to Singapore with a well-deserved win.

During tomorrow's Lay Day all 210 competitors and their supporters will enjoy a variety of tours, activities and beach days with a bit of Kiwiana. The individual racing continues with Race 7 this Saturday.

The provisional leader board (for the individual racing) shows:

1. Ryan Lo (SIN) 14 points,
2. Bart Lambriex (NED) 23 points,
3. Javier Arribas (PER) 25 points,
4. Wade Waddell (USA) 32 points,
5. Leonard Takahashi-Fry (NZL) 33 points,
6. Peter Lin Janezic (SLO) 40 points,
7. Philip Meijer (NED) 41 points,
8. Ahmad Syukri Abdul Aziz (MAS) 41,
9. William Marshall (USA) 44 points,
10. Miel Verstraete (BEL) 44 points.

Nathalie van Dort/ISAF
Share this page
World Sailing TV
Latest News
News Archive
© 2015 Copyright ISAF/ISAF UK Ltd. All Rights Reserved Privacy & Cookies delivered by Sotic powered by OpenText WSM